Webinar | Wednesday Sep 25th, 8:30 AM PT / 11:30 ET / 15:30 GMT / 17:30 CET

Towards Stateful Serverless

With Jonas Bonér, CTO & Co-founder of Lightbend, Inc.

Webinar | Wednesday Sep 25th, 8:30 AM PT / 11:30 ET / 15:30 GMT / 17:30 CET

Towards Stateful Serverless

Jonas Bonér, CTO & Co-founder of Lightbend, Inc.

About This Webinar

Audience: Architects, Developers

Technical level: Introductory

The Serverless experience is revolutionary and will grow to dominate the future of cloud computing. Function-as-a-Service (FaaS) is, however—with its ephemeral, stateless, and short-lived functions—is only the first step.

FaaS is great for processing intensive, parallelizable workloads, moving data from A to B providing enrichment and transformation along the way. But it is quite limited and constrained in what use-cases it addresses well, which makes it very hard/inefficient to implement general-purpose application development and distributed systems protocols.

In this webinar by Jonas Bonér, creator of Akka and CTO/Co-Founder of Lightbend, we take a look at how to model, manage, and scale stateful services while preserving responsiveness by designing for resilience and elasticity. We’ll specifically review:

  • What we need: a next-generation Serverless platform and programming model for general-purpose application development—e.g. Fast Data, Reactive Microservices, Streaming Pipelines, ML, etc.
  • What is missing: support for long-lived virtual stateful services, a way to manage distributed state in a scalable and available fashion, ways to physically co-locate data and processing, and options for choosing the right data consistency model for the job.
  • How to do it: the challenges, requirements, and a proposed solution implementing Stateful Serverless with Knative, gRPC, and Akka.

Save Your Seat

*Required: The information you provide will be used in accordance with the terms of our privacy policy. To opt-out of receiving educational resources, manage your preferences here.

ABOUT PRESENTER

Jonas Bonér, CTO & Co-founder of Lightbend, Inc.

Jonas Bonér is a co-founder of Lightbend and creator of the Akka event-driven middleware project. Previously he was a core technical contributor at Terracotta, working on core JVM-level clustering technology, and at BEA, as part of the JRockit JVM team. Jonas has also been an active contributor to open source projects including the AspectWerkz Aspect-Oriented Programming (AOP) framework and the Eclipse AspectJ project. He is an amateur Jazz musician, passionate skier and holds a Bachelors of Science from Mid Sweden University.

ABOUT PRESENTERS

Jonas Bonér, CTO & Co-founder of Lightbend, Inc.

Jonas Bonér is a co-founder of Lightbend and creator of the Akka event-driven middleware project. Previously he was a core technical contributor at Terracotta, working on core JVM-level clustering technology, and at BEA, as part of the JRockit JVM team. Jonas has also been an active contributor to open source projects including the AspectWerkz Aspect-Oriented Programming (AOP) framework and the Eclipse AspectJ project. He is an amateur Jazz musician, passionate skier and holds a Bachelors of Science from Mid Sweden University.





About Lightbend

Lightbend (@Lightbend) is leading the enterprise transformation toward real-time, cloud-native applications. Lightbend Platform provides scalable, high-performance microservices frameworks and streaming engines for building data-centric systems that are optimized to run on cloud-native infrastructure. The most admired brands around the globe are transforming their businesses with Lightbend, engaging billions of users every day through software that is changing the world. For more information, visit lightbend.com.